

## **United States Department of Agriculture**

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

October 4, 2021

The Honorable Pete Ricketts Governor State of Nebraska P.O. Box 94848 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509

**Dear Governor Ricketts:** 

In accordance with 7 CFR 759.5(a), I am designating six Nebraska counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

Other counties in Nebraska may have already been designated as natural disaster counties if they had previously met the requirements found under 7 CFR 759.5(a) for the current crop year.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Thomas J. Vilsac

Velal

Secretary

Disaster Designation Areas for Nebraska and Contiguous States

## **Primary Counties:**

Nebraska (6)

Banner Keya Paha Scotts Bluff

Box Butte Morrill Sioux

## **Contiguous Counties:**

Nebraska (10)

Boyd Cherry Dawes Holt Rock Brown Cheyenne Garden Kimball Sheridan

In addition, in accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster areas. Those states, counties, and numbers are:

## **Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:**

South Dakota (4)

Fall River Gregory Todd Tripp

Wyoming (3)

Goshen Laramie Niobrara