

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

May 2, 2022

The Honorable Greg Gianforte Governor State of Montana State Capitol Helena, Montana 59620

Dear Governor Gianforte:

In accordance with 7 CFR 759.5(a), I am designating 29 Montana counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are names as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Thomas J. Vilsack Secretary

Enclosure

Disaster Designation Areas for Montana and Contiguous States

Primary Counties:

Montana	(29)	
Beaverhead	Golden Valley	Powder River
Big Horn	Jefferson	Richland
Blaine	Lewis and Clark	Roosevelt
Broadwater	Liberty	Rosebud
Carbon	McCone	Sheridan
Cascade	Madison	Stillwater
Chouteau	Musselshell	Teton
Daniels	Petroleum	Toole
Fergus	Phillips	Valley
Garfield	Pondera	

Contiguous Counties:

Montana	(20)		
Carter	Gallatin	Park	Sweet Grass
Custer	Glacier	Powell	Treasure
Dawson	Hill	Prairie	Wheatland
Deer Lodge	Judith Basin	Ravalli	Wibaux
Flathead	Meagher	Silver Bow	Yellowstone

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Idaho Clark	(3) Fremont	Lemhi
North Dakota Divide	(3) McKenzie	Williams
Wyoming Big Horn Campbell	(5) Crook Park	Sheridan